We were introduced to the concept of Growth vs Fixed Mindset in last December during a Home School reunion.  Basically a Growth Mindset is the tenacity to persevere through challenging situations. A Fixed Mindset gives up trying when faced with difficulties.

I found the kids resumed the their routines at The Learning Lab with a much more positive  attitude after that event.  Occasionally, I heard the line ‘… see I decided to have a growth mindset when doing this Maths question….’

I came across a blog on some current research on this topic when I remembered a TED Talk on a similar theme a few years ago by Angela Lee Duckworth: The key to success? Grit
http://go.ted.com/WBNjyQ

Success in life is never a guarantee in life. As parents/educators we can only facilitate an environment which would empower children to feel its not GAME OVER when faced with difficulty.

